Types Of Alimony In Florida Divorce Cases

Divorce Case

Given the recent changes to federal tax law, one of the biggest issues that couples must negotiate in a Florida divorce is whether one spouse will receive alimony during and after the split. Florida law provides for five different types of alimony, and one or more can be awarded to a spouse in a divorce. Whether you are giving or receiving spousal support, our office understands the significant impact it can have on your financial wellbeing. To learn more about the types of alimony that may be possible in your case, call or contact the skilled Boca Raton spousal support lawyers at the Law Offices of David L. Hirschberg today.

What is Alimony?

Alimony, otherwise known as spousal support, is money paid from the higher earning spouse to the lesser earning spouse for financial support during and after a divorce. The purpose of alimony is to help maintain a comparable level of lifestyle the spouse had during marriage while also helping them gain their own financial independence following the dissolution of the marriage. Spousal support can be paid periodically from one spouse to the other or in the form of a lump sum payment, depending on the type of alimony awarded. Talk to your lawyer about what type of alimony may work best for you.

Types of Alimony

There are five main types of alimony awarded in a Florida divorce. The first is temporary alimony, which is awarded while divorce proceedings are ongoing. One spouse will support the other during divorce negotiations and ends once the divorce is finalized. The second type of alimony is bridge-the-gap alimony, which is intended as short-term support immediately after the divorce. Florida law caps bridge-the-gap alimony at two years and is meant to help one spouse cover legitimate and identifiable needs, such as living expenses while the family home is on the market or tuition costs for an educational program.

The third type of alimony is rehabilitative alimony.  This type of spousal support is specific to helping the lesser earning spouse complete education or training necessary for employment. In order for a former spouse to receive rehabilitative alimony, he or she must present a plan that outlines a timeline for course completion and the specific amount of money needed.

The fourth type of spousal support is durational alimony. Durational alimony is awarded by the Florida court when the previous types of alimony are insufficient to meet a spouse’s needs. This type of support is capped at the number of years of the marriage.

The last type of alimony is permanent support. Permanent alimony is only awarded in Florida for certain situations, such as a long-term marriage, permanent health issue, advanced age that renders employment impossible, or other reason. In order to award permanent alimony, the court must state the reasons why other spousal support options are unfair and not reasonable given the facts of the case.

Call or Contact the Office Today

If you are considering divorce in the Boca Raton area, talk a professional with experience in divorce law. Call or contact the Law Offices of David L. Hirschberg today to schedule a consultation of your case.

Related Posts
  • Factors Considered In Florida Alimony Cases Read More